softwaremom

Just another WordPress.com site

Installing mongoDB on Ubuntu

Tonight I’ve done some learning on Java programming.  Once I got used to the syntax and keywords, it’s quite easy.  I can do interface, inheritance (extends).  I also found a way to add additional option for JRE version by changing the property of the project.  The use of binary value (0b10101, for example) only works for JRE 7.  Eclipse automatically asked me if I want to switch to 7.  Nice.

Then, I proceed to install mongoDB on my Ubuntu system.  The official mongoDB site does it one way, without storing key for mongodb user.  I’ve found this site provides a different way to do the server installation.  http://www.mkyong.com/mongodb/how-to-install-mongodb-on-ubuntu/

Now I can start and stop the server.  However, I still need to find out how to import the mongoDB driver JAR files into my project.  

Leave a Reply

